License Reinstatement After Suspension or Revocation
The most common reason for having your driver’s license suspended is driving under the influence of alcohol. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and as reported by the Illinois DUI Factbook 2013, “an average of one alcohol-impaired driving fatality occurs every 53 minutes”
across the country. In recent years, many states have initiated extremely strict penalties for driving under the influence, and Illinois is no exception. If a person is convicted of a DUI, even if it is his first conviction of the sort, his vehicle registration is automatically suspended.
Additionally, according to the Factbook, Illinois is one of 32 states
that require a “first-time DUI offender to have a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) installed on his/her vehicle.” Only once the BAIID is installed on the offender’s vehicle can the driver then be eligible for relief from licensesuspension. If a person is caught driving with a suspended license after receiving a DUI conviction, he or she is guilty of a Class 4 felony. A Class 4 felony can carry heavy sentences such as a revocation of driving privileges for up to two full years. At a minimum (if the license was suspended for reasons other than DUI), according to the Illinois DMV, driving with a suspended license is “considered a Class A misdemeanor with a possible fine of up to $2,500 and up to 364 days in jail.”
If your license has been suspended or revoked, understanding the reinstatement process is the first step toward recovery. The most important part of the process is to enlist the assistance of a qualified attorney. He will be able to help you determine if you qualify for Driver Relief, or Restricted Driving privileges (RDP). According to the Illinois DMV, “RDP usually only covers driving to work or school; sometimes exceptions are made for driving yourself or relatives to medical appointments.” Other types of restricted driving permits include a Judicial Driving Permit, a Probationary License, or a Family Responsibility Driving Permit. To determine if you qualify for any of these, work with your attorney and your local SOS Office.
After the period of license revocation is over, you’ll need to pay to have it reinstated. Reinstating a license after suspension in Illinois isn’t cheap. “These mandatory fees vary according to the reason your license was suspended or revoked,” according to the DMV. You’ll also have to pay for a new license. Your best bet is to work with a qualified attorney.
If you or someone you know has had her license suspended or revoked, don’t go through it alone. Contact a dedicated Chicago-area attorney today.